Amber Referrals

One of my favorite things about shipping orders each day is discovering how my customers found out about me. With each order I open, I always look at the “How did you hear about us?” section to see where the order is coming from. I especially love the word-of-mouth referrals.

When a specific name is listed in this section on an order, I take the extra time to write a personal email to the person mentioned, thanking him/her and awarding the referral a Reward Point. When an order comes through with a referral from a facebook group or blog, I find the group and post a discount code for the readers.

However, thanking someone can be difficult when I see these:

How did you hear about us?
my sister
friend
daughter
word of mouth
facebook
my doctor
a customer
none

Small businesses rely on referrals. When a name is listed, we can contact that person, business, facebook group, blog, etc. If it is a business, we call them. If it’s a facebook group or blog, we find the page and publicly send gratitude to the readers.

So, next time you place an order anywhere online and see “How did you hear about us?”, be specific. Small companies appreciate it. It helps us grow.