Should Amber Sink or Float?

We had a great Mom’s event at Native Sun, one of the local stores in Jacksonville, who carry my amber necklaces. Many people came by to toss some amber in the salt water bowl. No matter how hard they tried to keep the amber under the water, authentic amber will always rise to the occasion.

REAL Baltic Amber is buoyant in salt water, whereas imitation amber will sink. This is important because there are so many amber imitation companies out there.

floating amber

If you want to test your own amber at home, the salt to water (salt:water) ratio the internet suggests is 1:2 or 1:3, but…I thought that was a TON of salt, especially when using a large bowl for demonstration. So, I conducted an experiment and discovered my amber floats in as little salt as 1:18! I ended up using 1/3 cup of ionized salt with 6 cups of lukewarm water, stirring to dissolve the salt. Given my amber immediately popped to the surface, I probably could have used even less salt, but I didn’t want to waste more water or salt. (I’m all about conserving! I even saved the saltwater mixture for future uses.)

Please remember, if you do this experiment, do NOT wash your amber afterwards. Simply rinse the salt off with plain, lukewarm water and set your amber on a clean, soft cloth to dry. You can read more about caring for your amber here and why you should not use soap.